ICC Champions Trophy, Sri Lanka A Review of Past and Future

ICC Champions trophy 2017 sri lanka squad

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: The fever of cricket is about to rise.

From June 4, 2017, the second biggest event of cricket will start; ICC Champions trophy 2017. One of the prestigious events of cricketing history.

This is the 9th edition of the tournament and 8 top cricket teams will play for the trophy. Champions trophy, also known as mini World Cup, as it is the second major event of cricket and top teams of cricketing playing nations participate in it.

The number of teams varied over last years, the first tournament included only full members, 2000-2004 associate teams also included. Now since 2009 only top 8 teams compete for the trophy. The top 8 teams of ODI ranking as of 6 months prior to ranking have right to compete.

Sri Lanka, another team with good records in Champions Trophy, they also never missed any event.

ICC Champions trophy Past Records

ICC Champions trophy 2002

Sri Lanka won the trophy in 2002 alongside India in rain delayed matches. Sri Lanka placed in Pool 4 among Pakistan and Netherlands. Sri Lanka won both matches and qualified for the knockout stage.

The match between Australia and Sri Lanka set for the play, Sri Lanka bowled Australia on 162. Later they chased the target successfully with the loss of 3 wickets and cruised to the finals.

The final was set among tow Asian nations, India and Sri Lanka. September 29, 2002, the match started Sri Lanka batted first and scored 244 runs, India started the chase and scored only 14 runs. Meanwhile, rain started and a storm delayed the match for one day.

On reserve day September 30, 2002, Sri Lanka once again batted first and scored 222 runs. India started batting and in 8.4 overs they managed 38 when the storm struck again. According to the rules of ICC, the match result on D/L is possible if 25 overs are bowled.

So the result could not draw and it was called a draw with both nations called champions.

Read More: ICC Champions Trophy 2017, Pakistan Team Pakistan A Review of Past and Future

ICC Champions trophy 2017

ICC champions Trophy Sri Lanka has some chances, their team is blending of some new and old lads makes the team strong. Sri Lanka always plays like a unit and this will increase the chances for them to win the event if they stick to the plan.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Schedule of Play:

sri lanka champions trophy schedule


Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Asela Gunaratne, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews (capt), Kusal Mendis (wk), Kusal Perera (wk), Thisara Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Seekkuge Prasanna, Lakshan Sandakan, Upul Tharanga.

Read More: ICC Champions Trophy 2017, England Team A Review of Past and Future


0 thoughts on “ICC Champions Trophy, Sri Lanka A Review of Past and Future”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *