ICC Champions Trophy 2017, India Team past and future.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017, India will play for the 3rd trophy as they already snatched two of them.

Virat Kohli will lead the team first time in any big ICC event, and India’s hopes are high for the trophy.

India is one of the teams who never missed any edition of Champion Trophy since the beginning. Meanwhile, this time they were ready to boycott the event after the decision of International Cricket Council reversed the decision of Big Three powers. But for good reasons they did not take the big step.

India will go for the hunt with big guns like Captain Virat Kohli, former captain and experienced MS Dhoni, 2 times double centurion Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh.

India won the event two times back in 2002 and recently 2013, now they will go for their 3rd trophy.

ICC Champions trophy Past Records:

ICC Champions Trophy 2000

The last knockout event or champions trophy, India managed t reach finals. They beat Kenya, Australia, and South Africa in the run, but they lost to New Zealand by 4 wickets.

ICC Champions Trophy 2002

Later in 2002, India and Sri Lanka hosted the event. India placed in pool 2 alongside Zimbabwe and England. They won both matches and qualified for the knockout semifinal stage. South Africa destined to play Indians and they faced an exquisite defeat of 10 runs from Indians.

Final played between co-hosts India and Sri Lanka, the match was not possible because of rains on both days. And after reserve day washout ICC declared both as co-champions.

ICC Champions Trophy 2013

India won the second title in 2013, placed in group B, alongside Pakistan, South Africa, and Bangladesh. India won all three matches and qualified for semifinals as the top team of the group. India faced Sri Lanka and won a low scoring match with ease.

England was destined to fight them in finals, and there was a chance for Lions to won their first 50 over the major trophy. But rain ruined the fun, only 20 over match played at Edgbaston.

Ravindra Jadeja helped India tp score 129-7 in 20 overs after England strike hard in earlier overs. England started with a shake and 46-4 down at one stage, but bounced back with 64 runs partnership between Ravi Bopara and Eion Morgan.

But Ishant Sharma appeared as the unsung hero for Indians as a strange bowling change brought 2 crucial wickets for India. Morgan and Bopara were back in the pavilion and so does hopes of Lions.

India beat England by 5 runs and grabbed the second trophy home.

ICC Champions trophy 2017

Schedule of play:

ICC Champions Trophy 2017, India Team past and future.


Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik*, Virat Kohli (capt), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammed Shami, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Umesh Yadav.

*replaces Manish Pandey (side strain injury)



0 thoughts on “ICC Champions Trophy 2017, India Team past and future.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *