ICC Champions Trophy 2017, England Team A Review of Past and Future

Champions Trophy 2017 england squad

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: The fever of cricket is about to rise.

From June 4, 2017, the second biggest event of cricket will start; ICC Champions trophy 2017. One of the prestigious events of cricketing history.

This is the 9th edition of the tournament and 8 top cricket teams will play for the trophy. Champions trophy, also known as mini World Cup, as it is the second major event of cricket and top teams of cricketing playing nations participate in it.

The number of teams varied over last years, the first tournament included only full members, 2000-2004 associate teams also included. Now since 2009 only top 8 teams compete for the trophy. The top 8 teams of ODI ranking as of 6 months prior to ranking have right to compete.

England one of the teams who never missed any editions, but unfortunately they also never managed to won any.

ICC Champions trophy Past Records

ICC Champions Trophy 2004:

England played well and played the final against West Indies and lost the finals during a thrilling encounter.

England placed in group D with Sri Lanka and Kenya, they won both the matches. They faced Australia in Knockout stage, easily surpassed the arch rivals by beating them by 6 wickets.

England faced West Indies in finals and gave a target of 217 runs, West Indies achieved the total with the loss of 2 wickets.

ICC Champions Trophy 2013:

Once again England qualified for the finals and choked again.

Placed in group A with Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and Australia, won 2 out of 3 matches and qualified for the semi-finals.

They face South Africa in semifinals, another hot favorite contender for the trophy, but England won comprehensively.

The final was set up between India and England at Birmingham, the match affected due to rain and reduced to only 20 overs. England won the toss elected to bat first and post a target of 124 runs, easy to achieve and India did so. India won the match in last over with the loss of only 3 wickets.

Another dream of victory was demolished.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017:

England has a great chance of winning the trophy at home. They have a great team with balanced combinations, thriving batsman relinquish and fearsome bowlers can be made the history of England.

Schedule Of Play

Champions Trophy 2017 england squad


Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jake Ball, Sam Billings (wk), Jos Buttler (wk), Alex Hales, Eoin Morgan (capt), Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

0 thoughts on “ICC Champions Trophy 2017, England Team A Review of Past and Future”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *